Back to CVE records
Critical 9.3Known exploited (CISA KEV)Published May 8, 2026

CVE-2026-42208LiteLLM: SQL injection in Proxy API key verification

Updated under an hour ago ()

Does this affect you?

It affects BerriAI litellm and 4 other products. Add what you run to find out whether that includes you.

CISA lists it as known exploited since May 8, 2026; federal agencies had to remediate by May 11, 2026. Treat that date as your deadline.

LiteLLM is a proxy server (AI Gateway) to call LLM APIs in OpenAI (or native) format. From version 1.81.16 to before version 1.83.7, a database query used during proxy API key checks mixed the caller-supplied key value into the query text instead of passing it as a separate parameter. An unauthenticated attacker could send a specially crafted Authorization header to any LLM API route (for example POST /chat/completions) and reach this query through the proxy's error-handling path. An attacker could read data from the proxy's database and may be able to modify it, leading to unauthorised access to the proxy and the credentials it manages. This issue has been patched in version 1.83.7.

CVSS
9.3 CRITICAL (v4.0, CNA)CVSS:4.0/AV:N/AC:L/AT:N/PR:N/UI:N/VC:H/VI:H/VA:H/SC:N/SI:N/SA:N
Weakness (CWE)
CWE-89
Known exploited
Added to CISA KEV May 8, 2026; federal remediation due May 11, 2026Apply mitigations per vendor instructions, follow applicable BOD 22-01 guidance for cloud services, or discontinue use of the product if mitigations are unavailable.
EPSS (exploitation in the next 30 days)
5.77% (percentile 93)
Assigned by
GitHub_M
NVD analysis
Analyzed
Record last updated
Jul 15, 2026
First seen by InfoSec Signals
Oct 9, 2026

Affected products

Affected products
BerriAI litellm
berriai:litellm (from the name)
from 1.81.16, < 1.83.7
CNA record
Red Hat Lightspeed Core
redhat:lightspeed_core
Versions not stated
CISA ADP
Red Hat Red Hat Ansible Automation Platform 2
redhat:ansible_automation_platform
2
CISA ADP
Versions not stated
CISA ADP
litellm litellm
litellm:litellm
from 1.81.16 before 1.83.7
NVD

References

  • x-refsource-confirm, mitigation, patch, vendor-advisory
  • x-refsource-misc, product, release-notes
  • third-party-advisory
  • mitigation, third-party-advisory
  • third-party-advisory
  • us-government-resource

The CVE record is authoritative. Products marked “from the name” were identified from the CNA's free-text names, not a CPE, and are matched less certainly. This product uses the NVD API but is not endorsed or certified by the NVD.

Your cookie choices
We use essential cookies to run this site, and, only with your consent, an advertising cookie from Google to measure whether our ads lead to sign-ups and subscriptions. See our for details.